Meet a Polie: Jace

I adore Jace for 10 million reasons. He is wise and kind and powerful in ways I don’t think he even realizes and he has a wickedly wonderful sense of humour. His marvelous answer when I asked if he wanted to be on my blog: 

 

Duh I wanna be on your blog, but only if it gets me laid. Promise?

How did you hear about the polar program?

     I found the job on coolworks.com about 2 years ago and a friend and I had a couple of beers and filled it out for shits and giggles.

Where are you from? Or where is your storage unit?
I’m  from Decorah, Iowa; also known as the center of the universe; seriously it’s the coolest place ever.
How long have you been coming to the ice?
This is my first year here in Antarctica, I was only supposed to be here for the 3 month summer season but my Chef offered me the winter position and I mean, come on, can you really turn something like that down?
Tell us what you do on the ice.
Right now I cook breakfast for my 49 closest friends and colleauges, but I switch between dinner and breakfast shifts with my ice BFF Mel.
What is your favorite thing about wintering?
Is this a trick question? I love seeing the auroras, that’s probably the best thing about being here right now. I like not having to pay for food, and free access to a gym.
What is it you most dislike about wintering?
I don’t like being the only openly gay guy down here… more than just being ridiculously horny, I just need some gays to talk about boy stuff with. I don’t like feeling singled out when I listen to Lady Gaga or watch Glee.
What do you miss most while wintering?
I miss my family terribly, I’ve never been away from home for this long before. I feel like it’s brought me and my little sister closer because we right/call each other constantly and probably have honest conversations more often than when I’m home.
If you could eat anything you wanted right now, what would it be?
A spinach salad with hard boiled eggs, red onions, good crisp bacon and heirloom tomatoes.
What is your most treasured possession on ice?
My iPod. It has so many songs that make me feel good and remind me of home. When I’m bummed all I have to do is put on a particular playlist and I feel like I can make it these next 90 days.
How do you spend your leisure time?
I spend a lot of time in the gym, cause it’s free, and I have very little better to do. On the weekends Mel and I watch Carnivale. And I call home for at least a half an hour a day. I also am loathe to admit that I spend a fair amount of time on the Facebook, which is something I can’t wait to stop doin when I’m home.

IMG_0260

When and where were you most happiest?
2 years ago I moved to Alaska with a good friend from Chicago to work at a lodge for the summer, and I was incredibly happy. Work was fun, rewarding and there were a lot of good people there. And I got to be outside all of the time, I am happiest when I’m running on a trail in the woods, and there was a lot of that to be done there.
If you could change one thing about yourself, what would it be?
I would remove my “wandering” gene so I would be content to just stay in one place for the rest of my life without getting that itch.
What do you regard as the lowest depth of misery?
If you’re not happy by yourself and with yourself, then I don’t think it could get much worse than that.
What is the quality you, most like in a man?
I like men who are independent, and don’t need someone to define/validate/coddle them.
What is the quality you most like in a woman?
See above.
IMG_4139
What do you most value in your friends?
I love my friends who I can not see for years, not talk to for months and the next time we run into each other we pick right off where we left off as opposed to those folks who tend to resent you for “not keeping in touch” as if you did it to hurt them.
What is the trait you most deplore in others?
Superiority… I can’t stand when people feel like they’re better than you for whatever reason, humility is key.
Who are your heroes in real life?
My uncle Charlie is the coolest, most down to earth guy ever. He is always barefoot, owns his own farm, is sober and incredibly happy. I would love to be just like him someday.
How would you like to die?
After everyone else I know, so they don’t have to get hurt.
What are your plans when you get off the ice?
I’m in the process of trying to buy some land and build a house; the next step would be to plant some trees and get some pigs… and a man.
Will you come back?
I don’t think so. It’s been tough, but it’s been an overall positive experience, but there are just so many other places in the world to go and be and experience. Plus I don’t think it’s good for my soul to be away from family and nature for so long.
What is your motto?
Huh. I don’t think I have a motto. But I like that Bob Marley song that goes, “Don’t worry, be happy!”

3 thoughts on “Meet a Polie: Jace

Leave a Reply

